Finals of the 2014 ATP World Tour

Finals of the 2014 ATP World Tour

This is a men tennis event scheduled to take place at the Stadium in London, U.K. between 9th and 16th of November. This is the 45th round for the single players and the 40th for doubles. The single men involve eight already qualified players grouped in groups of 2 and 4 players each. The top two players in each group meet in knock-out stages of the semis. The same case applies to the doubles.

Group A for men singles sees Novak Djokovic pitted with Stan Wawrinka, Tomas Berdych and Maric Cilic. The second group sees the likes of Roger Federer, Andy Murray, Kei Nishikori and Milos Raonic. In the doubles category, group A consists of Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan, Bruno Soares and Alexander Peya, Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau, Lukasz Kubot and Robert Lindstedt. In the second group, Daniel Nostor partners Nenad Zimonjuic, Julien Benneteau with Edouard Roger-Vasselin, Marcel Granollers and Marc Lopez, Ivan Dodig and Marcelo Melo.

The top 8 players and teams qualify for the tournament through the accumulation of points in the Grand Slam, ATP World Tour, and Davis Cup of 2013 tournaments in 2014 series. This gives a chance for all those players who ended the season in the top 30 in 2013. However, they have to go through 4 tournaments in the Grand Slam and 8 ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments in 2014 where the top eight players who would have accumulated many points automatically book their places in the tournament.

This tournament bring the positioning of the eight players in the Tennis sport such that the winner is ranked the number one tennis player in the world with his runners up being the second in that order.

Djokovic was the first player to book a place in the London finals after winning the Wimbledon Championship on July 7, 2014. The second to qualify was Nadal on 14th July. He was followed by Federer who qualified for the event for the 13th year in a row on August 18 after winning the Cincinnati Masters. Stan Wawrinka was the fourth contender to qualify on 12 October. , Marin Čilić followed the suit as he qualified on October 18th. The sixth contender to qualify was Andy Murray on 30th October. On 31st October, nine days before the event, Tomáš Berdych, Kei Nishikori and Milos Raonic made it after they had reached the Paris Masters.

Single tournament winner walks home with $1,455,000 while the runners up guns $475,000. Doubles category sees the winner earn $226,000 with the runners up winning $76,000.