Cricket World Cup 2023

Cricket World Cup 2023

Posted on November 28, 2023 by in Cricket
Cricket World Cup 2023

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is the 13th edition of the flagship event of the international cricket calendar. It will be hosted by India for the first time since 2011, when they won the trophy on home soil. The tournament will feature 10 teams, playing 48 matches across 10 venues from October 5 to November 19, 2023. Here is everything you need to know about the Cricket World Cup 2023.

The Teams

The 10 teams that will compete in the Cricket World Cup 2023 are:

  • India (hosts)
  • England (defending champions)
  • Australia (five-time winners)
  • Pakistan (1992 winners)
  • New Zealand (2019 runners-up)
  • South Africa
  • Bangladesh
  • Afghanistan
  • Netherlands
  • Sri Lanka

India, England, Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, and Bangladesh have qualified for the tournament through the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League, a 13-team league that ran from May 2020 to March 2023. Afghanistan and Netherlands have qualified through the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2, a seven-team league that ran from August 2019 to January 2023. Sri Lanka have qualified through the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier, a 10-team tournament that took place in Zimbabwe in July 2023.

The Format

The Cricket World Cup 2023 will follow the same format as the previous edition in 2019. The 10 teams will play each other in a single round-robin group stage, with each team playing nine matches. The top four teams at the end of the group stage will advance to the semi-finals, where the first-ranked team will face the fourth-ranked team, and the second-ranked team will face the third-ranked team. The winners of the semi-finals will meet in the final to decide the champion.

The group stage matches will start at either 10:30 AM or 2:00 PM Indian Standard Time (IST), while the semi-finals and the final will start at 2:00 PM IST. All matches will have reserve days in case of bad weather or other interruptions.

The Venues

The Cricket World Cup 2023 will be played across 10 venues in India, covering different regions and climates of the country. The venues are:

  • Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
  • M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
  • M. A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  • Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
  • HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala
  • Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
  • Eden Gardens, Kolkata
  • BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
  • Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
  • Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the most number of matches (five), including the tournament opener between England and New Zealand on October 5, the final on November 19, and the high-profile clash between India and Pakistan on October 15. The other nine venues will host four matches each.

The Schedule

The Cricket World Cup 2023 schedule was announced by the ICC on June 27, 2023 at a ‘Countdown to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023’ event in Mumbai. The schedule is as follows:

Date Match Venue
October 5 England vs New Zealand Ahmedabad
October 6 Pakistan vs Netherlands Hyderabad
October 7 Bangladesh vs Afghanistan Dharamsala
October 7 South Africa vs Sri Lanka Delhi
October 8 India vs Australia Chennai
October 9 England vs Netherlands Bengaluru
October 10 New Zealand vs Afghanistan Pune
October 11 Australia vs Sri Lanka Kolkata
October 12 South Africa vs Bangladesh Mumbai
October 13 India vs Netherlands Lucknow
October 14 England vs Afghanistan Chennai
October 15 India vs Pakistan Ahmedabad
October 16 New Zealand vs Sri Lanka Delhi
October 17 Australia vs Bangladesh Dharamsala
October 18 South Africa vs Netherlands Hyderabad
October 19 England vs Pakistan Lucknow
October 20 Pakistan vs Australia Bengaluru
October 21 England vs South Africa Mumbai
October 22 India vs New Zealand Dharamsala
October 23 Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka Pune
October 24 Bangladesh vs Netherlands Kolkata
October 25 Australia vs South Africa Lucknow
October 26 England vs India Delhi
October 27 New Zealand vs Bangladesh Mumbai
October 28 Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Chennai
October 29 Afghanistan vs Netherlands Hyderabad
October 30 India vs South Africa Bengaluru
October 31 England vs Australia Ahmedabad
November 1 New Zealand vs Netherlands Lucknow
November 2 Pakistan vs Bangladesh Pune
November 3 Afghanistan vs Australia Delhi
November 4 England vs Sri Lanka Kolkata
November 5 India vs Afghanistan Mumbai
November 6 New Zealand vs South Africa Chennai
November 7 Pakistan vs South Africa Dharamsala
November 8 Australia vs Netherlands Pune
November 9 England vs Bangladesh Hyderabad
November 10 India vs Sri Lanka Delhi
November 11 New Zealand vs Australia Lucknow
November 12 Pakistan vs Afghanistan Kolkata
November 13 Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Ahmedabad
November 15 Semi-final 1 (1st vs 4th) Mumbai
November 16 Semi-final 2 (2nd vs 3rd) Kolkata
November 19 Final Ahmedabad

The Prize Money

The ICC has announced a total prize money of US$14 million for the Cricket World Cup 2023, which is the same as the previous edition in 2019. The prize money will be distributed as follows:

  • Winner: US$4 million
  • Runner-up: US$2 million
  • Losing semi-finalists: US$800,000 each
  • Winner of each group stage match: US$40,000
  • Teams that do not pass the group stage: US$100,000 each

The Broadcast and Live Streaming

The ICC has awarded the global broadcast rights for the Cricket World Cup 2023 to Star Sports, which is also the host broadcaster for the event. Star Sports will provide live coverage of all matches on its various channels in India and other countries. The matches will also be live-streamed on Disney+ Hotstar app and website.

In addition, the ICC has also partnered with various other broadcasters to provide live coverage of the tournament in different regions of the world. Some of the major broadcasters are:

  • Sky Sports (United Kingdom and Ireland)
  • Fox Sports (Australia)
  • SuperSport (South Africa and sub-Saharan Africa)
  • Willow TV (USA and Canada)
  • OSN Sports (Middle East and North Africa)
  • ESPN (Caribbean)
  • PTV Sports and Ten Sports (Pakistan)
  • Gazi TV, Maasranga and BTV (Bangladesh)
  • SLRC (Sri Lanka)
  • RTA (Afghanistan)


The Cricket World Cup 2023 is set to be a thrilling and exciting event, with some of the best teams and players in the world competing for the ultimate glory. India will have the advantage of playing at home, but they will also face tough challenges from other contenders like England, Australia, Pakistan, New Zealand, and South Africa. The tournament will also provide an opportunity for teams like Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Netherlands, and Sri Lanka to showcase their talent and skills on the global stage. The fans can expect some high-quality cricket, close contests, and memorable moments from the Cricket World Cup 2023.

  • Tags :
Online Casinos

Stars Casino

Stars Casino: Get $100 bonus cash + 200 bonus spins

Stars Casino

Stars Casino: Get $100 bonus cash + 200 bonus spins

Top Online Bingo sites