ABA the upstart league

ABA the upstart league

ABA; the upstart league that challenged professional basketball and won

The American Basketball Association was formed a long time ago and has been functional since. The history of basketball in USA dates way back in the armature periods. It is from then that the idea of professional basketball came to mind of a few. The selected few had the chance of visiting different colleges and uncovered the talented players who were merged to form one great team that would compete in the top flight. From the selection, the emergence of pros such as Roger Brown, Doug Moe and the great Connie Hawkins was inevitable. Other pro players such as Spencer Haywood had to leave college and follow their talent while some such as Moses Malone were forced to skip college education.

However, some teams made it to their fame while others down sided. The same case happened to players with some such as Baltimore Claws and Anaheim Amigos became the unforgotten heroes. New teams among them Memphis, New Orleans, Miami, Minnesota, Utah and Dallas emerged. In the 1980s and 1990s, other teams were incorporated in the league and included Timberwolves, Hornets Mavericks and Heat. Others held on to their roots and have been active up to now and these may include Denver Nuggets, Indiana Pacers as well as San Antonio Spurs.

The ABA league which was replaced by NBA has been in historic books since early days. It can also be accessed via websites and cabal of true believers. It was in the league that transfers of players and coaches were initiated and in most cases, a departure of a star player affected the outcome of the selling team. This was a case that was evident when Nets sold their star baller Julius Erving to rivals Philadelphia.

The ABA moments had their MVPs too. Here are three main teams that can be derived from the ABA league. The first team would comprise of: Mack Calvin and George Gervin as main guards, Artis Gilmore would stand at the center while two main forwards would comprise Julius Erving and George McGinnis.

The second team would incorporate guards Ron Boone and Louie Dampier. Rick Barry and Roger Brown would act as forwards while Dan Issel wound be positioned at the centre.

The third team on the other hand would have Freddie Lewis and James Silas as main guards, Mel Daniels standing at the centre with Spencer Haywood and Connie Hawkins as main forwards.